CLUAS Album Reviews

Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

Jun 27

Written by:
Wednesday, June 27, 2007  RssIcon

Steer Clear 'No You Hang Up'

Not a perfect album, but not a bad one within the strict quality confines of uneventful teenage punk.

CLUAS Verdict: 6 out of 10

A band of the new generation, N. Irish pop-punks Steer Clear have topped Bebo music streams with thousands of online fans. But so have a lot of bands: is that a genuine reflection of a good album? Yes in some ways, no in others. A triumph of marketing and good production over musical content, No…You Hang Up is filled with angsty pop-punk of a breed common across the generational band of age 12-15. For all that, there’s some undeniably catchy choruses, clever guitar work, erudite references to classical and classic rock, punk, metal and even pop. Despite the difficulties inherent in telling any songs apart, each of them are some good tunes with decent, if not ground-breaking or even naff-free, lyrical content. 

Anna Murray

Tags:
Categories:
Location: Blogs Parent Separator Album Reviews

16 comment(s) so far...


Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

Yeah.. they're not great. Do good at what all that is, but what it is ain't great. Good review.

By MarsInFurs on   Saturday, October 13, 2007

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

I disagree completely with ^^this persons^^ comment!
I really like this album! It's amasing in my opinion and i'm probably not the only one that thinks this!

love it! <3

By making-a-memory on   Tuesday, January 08, 2008

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

really like this album :D . is so amazing the band :] .
love SC < 3 .

By Saally . on   Saturday, January 12, 2008

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

This album is awsome... the songs are perfectly put together, the lyrics are amazing, and the look of the band isnt that bad either. Since hearing of this band i havent been able to stop listening to them.

By Bronagh on   Tuesday, February 05, 2008

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

Sammy Leon Is One Of My Best Friends In The World And He Never Fails To Make Me Smile He ROCKS And So Does His Amazing Band =) I Love Youuuu xxxx

By Kate on   Sunday, February 17, 2008

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

Absolutely rubbish. Local band "tree" offer much more

By C Blackwell on   Tuesday, February 19, 2008

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

Personally i see it as a waste of money, the time spent in the studio could have went to a better band, the songs are poorly put together, lyrics are all similar and all except one are about breaking up with girls, what does that say about the band. They think they are something with the exact same look as my chemical romance and greenday. Song names are awful, their fans are all 12-16 and i cant wait to they grow up and get some sense. Singer sounds terrible live - see the live preformance on atl - sounds like a sheep baaaaaaing at times. Overall they sound like the average american pop punk band and something we have heard 1000 times before

By Sean on   Sunday, March 02, 2008

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

I agree with the review. Cathcy but then again, I agree with the 'hate mail' comment. Pádraig cannot sing live. I myself take singing lessons, therefore I know that he definately should be getting singing lessons, which he evidently is not. The band overall are a band that you have heard thousands of times over, but they are catchy. However, if it wasn't for Pádraig and the boys good looks, they would have no fans.

This is not a hate mail comment as I am a fan of Steer Clear and have been since day one, over 3 years ago. I just think that if they get their old singer back that yes, they would be unbelieveable. Their ep's are, not to mention a better quality, but also give a better image of the band.

I have to definately complain about something though, the new merchandise? It sucks balls. Reminds me of Enter Shikari tee's, which also suck balls. Get back the old tee's, they'd be a better seller anyday.

By Anon on   Saturday, March 29, 2008

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

one of the best albums ihave=]
love steer clear

By nikki on   Wednesday, April 02, 2008

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

I Think This Album Is Really Great. Love Listening To It.
p0d's Voice Is Amazing On The CD and Also Live.

By Natt :] on   Friday, April 11, 2008

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

No way!!
This is one of the best albums I own.

Steer Clear are amazing!

By Kathy on   Friday, April 11, 2008

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

Me cago en vuestras madres.
And now, p0d doesn't sound like a sheep baaaaign all the time, that might be you anyways.
Yes, i hard that perfromance, and i have to tell that you should listen to the comebacks aren't your thing acoustic, is up on youtube, so please go and listen.
The lyrics are perfect, the names are perfect, they're nothing similar to my chemical romance due to my chemical romance suck live .
The bassist keeps the rythim, the drummer keeps it too, the keyboardist keeps it, there's no plave here to say they're bad, so fuck off, im 20 years old, not 12-16, and i do like them so stop bullshitting about a CLEARLY AWESOME band.

By Summer on   Monday, May 05, 2008
Gravatar

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

They really, really suck. Rely entirely on their image, manufactured courtesy of blastspace. Trivial and pretentious.

By ModestMusician on   Thursday, October 09, 2008
Gravatar

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

I love Steer Clear <3
Gonna miss these guys like crazy!

By Tabi on   Tuesday, November 11, 2008
Gravatar

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

umm.. sorry 2 b picky but u spelt teenage wrong and i'm 17 and i love them!! Steer Clear 4ever =D

By Gb1292 on   Thursday, March 19, 2009
Gravatar

Re: Steer Clear 'No...You Hang Up'

Steer Clear are most deffinatly my favourite band of all time. There gigs are amazing the atmosphere is epic. p0d is an awsome singer with an amazing voice backed up by sid and vinny/ebbs. The vocals and beats used in there song are perfection. Obviously this is only my opinion and everyone is entitled to there own, but is slating hate mail really the way to go about it. These boys have done well building up a band from nothing because they love music, which is not easy in Belfast. I guess im just trying to say if you dont like there music thats ok just please dont slate it to the people who adore it. Its not nice and quite disrespectful. And if p0d sounds like a 'sheep baaaaing' then i guess i like the sound of sheep baaaing. The boys themselves are also friendly and greatfull of all the support they have. They never turn down a minute to talk to a fan and always take pride in signing c.d's or t-shirts or whatever it may be. Please give the guys a break. They changed some lives

By IRLY on   Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Your name:
Gravatar Preview
Your email:
(Optional) Email used only to show Gravatar.
Your website:
Title:
Comment:
Security Code
CAPTCHA image
Enter the code shown above in the box below
Add Comment   Cancel